Contact
photo:Stephanie Dlugopolski
Stephanie Dlugopolski
PR & Social Media Manager
Share this release
Share on: Twitter
Share on: Facebook
Share on: LinkedIn
Latest news
Sheboygan Falls, Wis.,
21
September
2017
|
01:40 AM
America/Chicago

Feeding Families, First Responders After Irma

Another Big Taste Grill has rolled into Florida, serving communities devastated by Hurricane Irma, with warm bratwursts and a relief from recovery efforts.

The 65-foot Big Taste Grill left its main tour out West, and detoured to Florida after Labor Day. It’s preparing to serve several thousand bratwursts to support several Florida communities. We’re ready to grill up to 750 brats at one time or 2,500 brats per hour if needed. The brats are donated by Johnsonville, and several retailers are also donating food and drink items. All will be provided at no charge to hurricane victims, and disaster-relief workers and volunteers, as they rebuild and restore their lives and communities.

Another Johnsonville Big Taste Grill is also in Texas, wrapping up a three-week relief effort in dozens of communities there, which are also rebuilding after Hurricane Harvey smashed that state last month. That grill will return out West, to return to its regularly scheduled tour through the end of October.

“The devastation here is hard to see,” said Grillmaster Suzy Shelstad after arriving in Florida. “Many people have come here saying it’s the first warm food they’ve had since Irma hit. So we’re very happy to be here and provide a bit of nourishment and a hug as these residents begin the rebuilding process."

 

Monday, Sept. 18

Johnsonville Marketplace

6355 Naples Blvd., Naples, FL 34109

10a – 2p

Tuesday, Sept. 19

Johnsonville Marketplace

6355 Naples Blvd., Naples, FL 34109

10a – 2p

Wednesday, Sept. 20

St. Raphael Catholic Church

2514 Lee Blvd., Lehigh Acres, FL 33971

10a – 2p

Thursday, Sept. 21

Johnsonville Marketplace

6355 Naples Blvd., Naples, FL 34109

5a-10a

Saturday, Sept. 23

Farm Workers Village

2225 Chadwick Cir, Immokalee, FL 34142

3p-7p

Sunday, Sept. 24

Immokalee Community Park

321 North First Street, Immokalee, FL 34142

3p-7p

Friday, Sept. 29

Winn-Dixie

2778 North Roosevelt Blvd., Key West, FL 33040

3p-7p

Saturday, Sept. 30

Winn-Dixie

251 Key Deer Blvd., Big Pine Key, FL 33043

TBD

Sunday, October 1

Lowe's

1850 NE 8th St. Homestead, FL 33033

10a-3p

Tuesday, October 3

Lowe's

1650 W. 37th St. Hialeah, FL 33012

3p-7p

Tuesday, October 10

Lowe's

12730 Tamiami Trail E., Naples, FL 34113

3p-7p

Wednesday, October 11

Lowe's

10070 Estero Town Commons Pl. Estero, FL 33928

3p-7p

Friday, October 13

Lowe's

2050 US 27 N. Sebring, FL 33870

3p-7p

Sunday, October 15

WM Distribution Center

6785 SW Enterprize Blvd., Arcadia, FL 34981

8a-5p

Tuesday, October 17

Lowe's

23227 US 27 Lake Wales, FL 33859

3p-7p

Wednesday, October 18

Lowe's

37051 US 27 Haines City, FL 33844

3p-7p